I posted an Ad on Craigslist Los Angeles yesterday hoping to sell and old camera of mine – some dude called Mark Paul tried to scam me into sending the camera to Nigeria….it all look a bit suspicious so I used the google voice search application on my iPhone “craigslist Nigeria Scam” and found loads of postings about exactly what was happening to me (Links below). After reading the posts I saw what the deal was……these guys use a hacked paypal account to pay you…..you see the funds are in your account, send the stuff to Nigeria. As soon as the funds go through they are marked as fraud and are returned to the hacked users account. Awesome….you have just sent your item to Nigeria and there is no way of getting you stuff back….
Here are two links that I read that where usefull:
http://www.fraudguides.com/internet-craigslist-scams.asp
http://forums.gumtree.com/topic73431.html
And here is the email conversation with this guy:
| On Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 5:37 PM, mark paul <mcpaul01@msn.com> wrote: ** CRAIGSLIST ADVISORY — AVOID SCAMS BY DEALING LOCALLY ** Avoid: wiring money, cross-border deals, work-at-home ** Beware: cashier checks, money orders, escrow, shipping ** More Info: http://www.craigslist.org/about/scams.html Let me know your firm price?
|
— On Wed, 11/19/08, Murry> wrote:
From: Kurt Heim
Subject: Re: Canon 20D + Grip + 28-135 Canon Lens – $600 (Santa Monica)
To: mcpaul020@yahoo.com
Cc: sale-924768625@craigslist.org
Date: Wednesday, November 19, 2008, 3:06 AM
its firm at 600 – whats your offer?
On Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 7:15 PM, Mark Paul <mcpaul020@yahoo.com> wrote:
Subject: Re: Canon 20D + Grip + 28-135 Canon Lens – $600 (Santa Monica)
To: mcpaul020@yahoo.com
Ok – consider it sold to you – where am I going to ship the package to so that I can include the shipping fee?
Murry
Subject: Re: Canon 20D + Grip + 28-135 Canon Lens – $600 (Santa Monica)
To: mcpaul020@yahoo.com
Below is the address as stated:Address:26 Peter Okoye Street Uwani
City:Enugu
State:Enugu State
Country:Nigeria
Postal code:400001
I will be waiting to hear from you asap.
http://forums.gumtree.com/topic73431.html
consider this item not for sale.
Thank you for your time and please do not contact me again
6 responses so far ↓
Ben // December 2, 2008 at 2:55 am
Thank you!!
I felt something was off by how forward this guy was. I am glad that I did some research
many thanks
ben
Angela // December 7, 2008 at 2:28 pm
Mark Paul keepshis dirty game… Let’s keep reporting these guys. There is another one called: Richard Ray” <hawkcash101@gmail.com
Erin // December 11, 2008 at 9:10 pm
This EXACT same thing happened to me!!! The exact same form letter and shipping for their son in time for Christmas, etc.
Rohit // January 19, 2009 at 8:31 pm
Mark Paul sent me like 5 emails in a row for my iPod touch 16gb. That bastard.
Kris // January 27, 2009 at 11:23 pm
Yeah. I put my 2 playstation portables on there and someone named “christiano duff” decided to email me telling me the same scam. I red flagged it right away since in my posting it reads “local Pickup only”. After seeing what others have said, I am glad I went with my gut on this one. Other information tells me that there is some sort of “legitimate” business or a front coming from that same address. Companies name is “Plessy Nig. Ltd.,
” Please be super careful if you are selling on the ‘Net. Thank You, Jah Bless.
Edwin Daniels // March 18, 2009 at 5:36 pm
What then happens to some of us whoare genuinely interested in some stuff from the net and we are from Nigeria? Well good to know that you checked before doing such transactions. I have been told several times by some pals from the US that i can’t be given a chance because several people have been scammed by Nigerians. Is it fair to generalize for a country of over 140 milion people when less tha one percent are scammers?